Advisory Council

Special Reclamation Advisory Council

Pursuant to enrolled Senate Bill 5003 passed September 15, 2002, a Special Reclamation Advisory Council was established to ensure the effective, efficient and financially stable operation of the Special Reclamation Fund.

The Council is comprised of eight (8) members:

The Secretary of Environmental Protection, the Treasurer of the State of West Virginia, the Director of the National Mine Land Reclamation Center at West Virginia University, and five (5) other members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Each member serves a six (6) year term and has full voting rights, except the Secretary of Environmental Protection, who serves as a non-voting, ex-officio member.

The Council meets at the discretion of the Secretary of Environmental Protection, but no less than once every six (6) months.  The Council submits an annual report at the end of each calendar year to the Legislature and Governor.  The reports submits information on the adequacy of the Special Reclamation Tax and the fiscal condition of the Special Reclamation Fund.

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | | | © 2017 State of West Virginia