Air Quality Fees
West Virginia Air Quality Fees
Annual renewals for CESs and CTOs will be mailed to subject sources
on June 28, 2013 and should be returned by July 31, 2013.
The Title V/CES invoice fee beginning on July 1, 2013 and lasting until June 30, 2014 is $31.87 per ton of regulated air pollutant emitted.
The Title V/CES invoice fee effective through June 30, 2013 is $31.07 per ton (for the state fiscal year running July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2013).
The Clean Air Act requires each state to develop a Title V (Major) Source Operating Permit Program that is supported by air quality fees. This includes Deferred and Non-Deferred Title V sources. Non-Major sources not subject to Title V requirements are subject to State Rule 45CSR22. Fee procedures for the two types of operating permits differ: Certified Emissions Statements (CESs) are for Title V Major Sources and Certificate to Operate (CTOs) are for Non-Major Sources. The Annual Air Quality Fee Program for West Virginia coincides with the state fiscal year, from July 1 to June 30.
Fee Basics Common to Both CES and CTO
- CES invoices and CTO applications must be completed and returned to the DAQ with payment by July 31, each year.
- Facilities must use either the CES invoice or CTO application mailed to them by the DAQ. Only the original document is accepted.
- CTO receipts and Title V/CES receipts are issued for the current operating year (July 1 - June 30).
- Failure to pay by July 31, results in penalty (late) fees.
- The Title V/CES invoice fee is $31.07 per ton for July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2013 and $31.87 per ton for July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014.
- This is the fee used for calculating the CES emissions based fee total.
- CES fees are determined based on emissions calculations listed on the CES invoice using either:
- Total emissions (in tons) during the previous calendar year, multiplied by the current fee per ton - (listed on the CES invoice) OR
- The Facility/Source Category fee shown in the Rule 45CSR22 Fee Schedule
- CES invoices must be signed by a Responsible Official as defined on the CES invoice.
- CTO fees are listed on the CTO invoice and are based only on the Facility/Source category shown in the Rule 45CSR22 Fee Schedule.
Summary of Rules
Frequently asked questions about Certified Emissions Statements
Note Regarding CESs and CTOs:
We have listed Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes on past Certified Emissions Statement Invoices (CESs) and Application for Certificates to Operate (CTOs), in Section One. Currently we are listing what we interpret your (primary) North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code should be, based on your past SIC code. Please check that the NAICS code we listed is correct.
For more information on NAICS codes or to look up NAICS codes please visit the following website:
Questions concerning specific invoices should be directed to the Division of Air Quality, Fee Program Coordinator at the following:
E-Mail: AirQualityFees@wv.gov, Telephone: (304) 926-0499, extension 1234, Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE, Charleston, WV 25304